Kossuth Dance captures first state title

The 2020 Kossuth Varsity Dance Squad captured the MHSAA State Championship at Mississippi Coliseum in Jackson on Friday, December 11. The title is the first in the 10-year history of the KHS Dance Team. “This year’s team is a special group of young ladies who have worked tirelessly and with so much heart and dedication,” said head coach Wendy Kelly. “When I received the email from the MHSAA stating the dance teams we would be competing with it was difficult to stay optimistic at first (there were 10 teams in classes 4A-5A-6A with Kossuth being the lone 3A squad). Going into competition day I told my girls that regardless of the outcome all I ask of them is that they compete. Knowing what they were up against I wanted them to give 200 percent and leave it all on the floor. And I also want to extend a special thanks to our choreographer Courtney Powell.” Team members and coaches from the 2020 Kossuth High School Dance state champions are (bottom row, from left) Claudia Lowrey, Mackenzie Huffstutler, Jaden Settlemires, Lexi Kate Fiveash, Meagan Drewry and Ashton Harvell: (middle row, from left) Lily Little and Marley Thrasher and (back row, from left) Volunteer Coach Grace Kelly, Aikley Harvell, Lynley Woodruff, Abby Stewart, Jada Essary, Emma Renfrow, Morgan Floyd and head coach Wendy Kelly.

Kossuth Dance captures first state title


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.