Mississippi’s presidential electors casted their votes on Monday joining the rest of the nation in the process to affirm Democrat Joe Biden as the next President of the United States.

In Mississippi, the state’s six votes went to Republican President Donald Trump. The president received almost 58 percent of the popular vote in Mississippi. The state has voted Republican in each of the past 11 elections dating back to 1980 when President Ronald Reagan won the Magnolia state.

Trump also received Tennessee’s 11 votes as the Electoral College met. Trump and Vice President Mike Pence won Tennessee by over 60 percent.

Monday was the day set by law for the meeting of the Electoral College, where all 50 states’ electors and the District of Columbia casted their ballots. The results will be sent to Washington and tallied in a Jan. 6 joint session of Congress over which Pence will preside.

Although Trump was victorious locally in Mississippi and Tennessee, it was Biden and Vice President-Elect Kamala Harris who went on to win the nationwide Electoral College and popular vote according to The Associated Press. Biden is expected to have 306 electoral votes to 232 for Trump. It takes 270 to be elected. In the popular vote count, Biden topped Trump by more than 7 million votes nationwide.

Trump has yet to concede the election and continues legal battles in battleground states over allegations of voter fraud. Those claims have been unsupported so far according to The AP. An additional effort was made in the Supreme Court to set aside 62 electoral votes for Biden in four states, which might have thrown the outcome of the election. The justices rejected the effort on Friday.

Tennessee Republican Gov. Bill Lee declined to acknowledge Biden as president-elect on Monday, while Mississippi Republican Gov. Tate Reeves made no comment but wore a bright red Trump face covering during the Electoral College event.

The Electoral College was the product of compromise during the drafting of the Constitution between those who favored electing the president by popular vote and those who opposed giving the people the power to directly choose their leader.

The bargain struck by the nation’s founders has produced five elections in which the president did not win the popular vote. Trump was the most recent example in 2016.

(The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

Staff Writer

Zack Steen was first hired in 1999 as a junior in high school to work in the Daily Corinthian design department. After several years away, he returned in 2014 as staff writer. He's married to the love of his life Brandy and they have 5 wonderful fur-kids.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.