Corinth will see at least one new face among the city’s aldermen this year.

Ward 5 incumbent Michael McFall made a surprise announcement at the end of Tuesday’s meeting of the Board of Mayor and Aldermen that he will not seek reelection because of work obligations. As of June 1, he will become vice president and general manager for the Memphis operations of Lamar Advertising. He is currently vice president and general manager of the Corinth office.

He intends to complete the current term of office, which runs through Nov. 6.

“Eventually, I may be relocating to Memphis, but it won’t be until this term is over,” McFall said.

One candidate quickly jumped into the newly open race. Jennifer Timbes filed her statement of intent Wednesday morning to run for Ward 5 alderman on the Republican ticket. She is the owner of Cottage Garden, a seller of handcrafted artisan bath products.

McFall said his decision comes with much heartache, and he is “honored and blessed” to have served 12 years on the board.

“We have made huge strides during this time because of the involved citizens, volunteers, department heads, employees and elected officials,” he said. “However, this job deserves officials dedicated to living, participating and working in the community. Therefore, I am withdrawing my application for alderman in Ward 5. I pray for the next alderperson to have much success, and I wish them the best of luck.”

McFall said he had anticipated the change in his employment role would be a couple of years out, but that suddenly changed. He will still be somewhat involved with the Corinth office, but in more of an advisory role.

Those who were present in the board room gave McFall a standing ovation for his service.

“You’ve done an outstanding job, and you’ll be a tough act to follow,” said Mayor Tommy Irwin.

With about two weeks remaining in the qualifying period for Corinth’s election, Timbes is the only new addition to the candidate list since May 9.

The current lineup:

Mayor: Tommy Irwin (R, incumbent), Ralph Dance (R)

Chief of police: Ben Gann (R), Landon Tucker (R)

Ward 1 alderman: Chris Wilson (R, incumbent), Johnny Butler (R)

Ward 2 alderman: Ben Albarracin (R, incumbent)

Ward 3 alderman: Chip Wood (R, incumbent)

Ward 4 alderman: J.C. Hill (D, incumbent), Steve Hill (D), Jerry Porter (D)

Ward 5 alderman: Jennifer Timbes (R)

Alderman at large: Mike Hopkins (R, incumbent), David Curry (R)

Staff Writer

Jebb Johnston is a 1991 Alcorn Central High School graduate and a 1995 Ole Miss journalism graduate. His primary beats are city and county government.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.