A contested race for Farmington mayor and races for alderman in Farmington and Rienzi highlight the municipal elections coming up in Alcorn County.

Of the four municipalities for which it is an election year, only Farmington has a primary and will vote on Tuesday. Rienzi will vote during the June 8 general election. Glen and Kossuth, each with one candidate for mayor and five for alderman, are not required to hold elections.

Corinth’s municipal election will be in 2022. It is one of the handful of cities that are not on the same cycle as the majority of Mississippi cities and towns.


Mayor Dale Fortenberry, seeking a fifth term at the helm of Alcorn County’s second-largest municipality, is opposed by Reece Wallin.

The city has nine in the running for the five-member Board of Aldermen. The incumbents – Lowell Gann, Johnny Potts, Jeff Patterson, Shane Harvell and Luther Rhodes – are joined by Ricky Gibens, Benson Skelton, Shane Bridges and Tammy Philamlee.

All of the candidates are running as Republicans, which means the outcome will be decided in the primary, and the city will not be required to have a general election in June.

In-person absentee voting continues through Saturday, when Farmington City Hall will open from 8 a.m. to noon.


Mayor Walter Williams is unopposed and will serve a fourth term.

Seven are running for alderman. Incumbents Jimmy Harwood, Dale A. Leonard, David W. Massey, Harold W. Palmer and James Strickland are on the ballot with Melissa Bearden Morgan, a former alderwoman, and Amy Norvell.


David W. Derrick, who took office as mayor in 2018 following the death of Danny Beavers, is unopposed and will advance to his first full term.

Although there is no election, there will be a change on the Board of Aldermen. Incumbent David S. Derrick, son of the mayor, is not seeking reelection. New to the board will be Bryan O. White. He joins incumbents Frances Null, Ruth Sellers, Shirley Tutor and James A. “Tony” White.


Mayor Donald R. Pace will advance to a sixth term in Kossuth, and the incumbent aldermen will return – Billy White, Paul Rollison, Dusty Essary, Steve Jones and James Allen.

Staff Writer

Jebb Johnston is a 1991 Alcorn Central High School graduate and a 1995 Ole Miss journalism graduate. His primary beats are city and county government.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.