Between the record turnout, long lines and COVID-19 restrictions, it was an Election Day like no other in Alcorn County and throughout the Crossroads area. A line of over 35 people developed before the 7 a.m. poll opening time at the John Street Community Center, where poll workers were giving out plastic bags with pens for people to sign in and “I Voted” stickers to display after casting votes. Much like the six-foot distance points and required masks, the “I Voted” pens were for a one time use per pandemic restrictions.

It was a “near historical” turnout in Alcorn County on Election Day.

Circuit Clerk Crystal Starling reported a close to record number of people voted on Tuesday with a little over 16,000 ballots casted including 1,900 absentees.

Alcorn County voters went with the rest of Mississippi selecting President Donald Trump over former Vice President Joe Biden and a field of other contenders. Trump outpaced Biden by 81 percent.

In the race for Senate, incumbent Cindy Hyde-Smith easily won over Mike Espy taking 74 percent of the vote in Alcorn County.

Over 53 percent of Alcorn County said yes to medical marijuana with the pension-driven Initiative 65 receiving a whomping 65 percent of the local vote. The flag referendum was also successful with 56 percent of voters saying yes to the new flag.

Starling said the turnout was 16,033 including 1,936 absentee voters. All were counted on Tuesday night except 11 absentee affidavits, seven that required a photo ID check and 295 regular affidavits.

She said the day was smooth considering the challenges poll workers faced with COVID-19 precautions.

“We had 30 or more people in line at some precincts when polls opened at 7 a.m. and at least that many or more in line when polls closed at 7 p.m.,” said Starling.

Unofficial Alcorn County results:

President: Joseph R. Biden (Democrat) 2741, Donald J Trump (Republican) (Incumbent) 12689, Don Blankenship (American Constitution) 11, Brian Carroll (American Solidarity) 6, Phil Collins (Independent) 12, Howie Hawkins (Green) 9, Jo Jorgensen (Libertarian) 117, Brock Pierce (Independent) 4, Kanye West (Independent) 30;

US Senate: Mike Espy (Democrat) 3586, Cindy Hyde-Smith (Republican) (Incumbent) 11507, Jimmy Edwards (Libertarian) 371

First Congressional District: Antonia Eliason (Democrat) 2404; Trent Kelly (Republican) (incumbent) 12645

State Supreme Court District 3, Position 3: Josiah Dennis Coleman (Incumbent) 8570, Percy L Lynchard 3920

Statewide Ballot Measure 1 (Medical Marijuana): For or Against Approval of Either: For 7506, Against 6503; Choice of Measures: For Measure No. 65 7205, For Alternative Measure 65A 3898

Statewide Ballot Measure 2 (Process for Electing Governor): Yes 10532; No 4035

Statewide Ballot Measure 3 (New Design for State Flag): Yes 8703; No 6629

Staff Writer

Zack Steen was first hired in 1999 as a junior in high school to work in the Daily Corinthian design department. After several years away, he returned in 2014 as staff writer. He's married to the love of his life Brandy and they have 5 wonderful fur-kids.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.