Contact Us e-Edition Crossroads Magazine
Corinth, Shannon share 1-4A honors
by H. Lee Smith II
Jul 25, 2014 | 334 views | 0 0 comments | 6 6 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Corinth Warriors and Shannon Red Raiders have split their six regular-season matchups since the former Little 10 Conference rivals were reunited in Division 1-4A.

The two basketball stalwarts split the big awards in the annual All-Division 1-4A team.

Raheem Sorrell earned Offensive Player of the Year honors, while Jose Contreras took home Defensive Player of the Year following the annual post-season meeting of coaches.

Shannon’s Cedric Brim was tabbed Coach of the Year, while guard Rocquis Coleman was named the six-team league’s Most Valuable Player.

The Red Raiders have claimed two of the three regular-season titles since Corinth rejoined 1-4A for the first time since 1995-96. Corinth -- which finished second in the state in 2011, 2012 and 2013 -- the latter two in 4A, has won the last two Division Tournament crowns.

Sorrell averaged 12 points and six rebounds as Corinth finished the season 23-6. He set two career milestones, finishing with 1,226 points in 109 contests.

Contreras had over 52 steals and led the squad in drawn charges once again. He also cracked the 100-game plateau for his career, finishing in the Top 10 all-time at Corinth High School.

Kendall Stafford and Desmin Harris joined their two teammates on the 10-deep first team. The pair were among four CHS players to average double figures on a well-balanced scoring squad.

Harris led the team in 3-point field goals (59), steals (2.3) and free-throw percentage. He also joined the 100 game club and just finished short of tallying 1,000 points in his career.

Coach of the Year: Cedric Brim, Shannon

Most Valuable Player: Rocquis Coleman, Shannon

Offensive Player of the Year: Raheem Sorrell, Corinth

Defensive Player of the Year: Jose Contreras, Corinth

First Team

Sean Watkins -- Shannon

Xavier Jones -- Shannon

Kendall Stafford -- Corinth

Raheem Sorrell -- Corinth

Desmin Harris -- Corinth

Jose Contreras -- Corinth

Ty Jones -- Pontotoc

Kaleb Barnes -- Pontotoc

Blake Hawkins -- Tishomingo Co.

Andrew McDonald -- Itawamba AHS

Honorable Mention: Jalen Brim, Shannon; Anthony Kennedy, Itawamba AHS; Fred Garth, Amory; Anthony Townsend, Pontotoc; Delvin Zinn, Pontotoc
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet