Contact Us e-Edition Crossroads Magazine
City qualifying closes with no new candidates
by Jebb Johnston
Jul 18, 2014 | 182 views | 0 0 comments | 9 9 recommendations | email to a friend | print
No new candidates stepped up during the final week of qualifying, leaving Corinth with one of the lightest slates in many years as the window of opportunity closed at 5 p.m. Friday.

For city election holders, it will mean a little more breathing room than the typical election allows. For example, there will be no need for a primary for the Republican candidates.

“That’s a first,” said City Clerk Vickie Roach. “And there will be no primary runoff — that’s a first.”

With a couple of incumbents switching to the Republican ticket (Mayor Tommy Irwin and Ward 5 Alderman Michael McFall), Republican candidates will, for the first time, gain a majority of seats on the board.

The 2014 lineup ends with 13 candidates, compared to 23 in both 2010 and 2006.

Candidates who have no opposition of either party include Mayor Tommy Irwin (R), Ward 1 Alderman Andrew “Bubba” Labas (R), Ward 2 Alderman Ben Albarracin (R), Ward 3 Alderman A.L. “Chip” Wood III (R) and Ward 5 Alderman Michael McFall (R).

Only police chief, ward 4 alderman and alderman at large have contested races.

For police chief, the Democratic primary on Sept. 16 will have Ralph Dance and Ben Gann, while Fred Gooch (R) will automatically advance to the Oct. 14 general election. All are currently employed with the Corinth Police Department and seeking to follow David Lancaster, who is retiring.

The alderman at large race will see two-term incumbent Mike Hopkins face Jennifer S. McCoy in the Democratic primary with Republican John Orman waiting in the general election.

The Democratic primary will effectively decide the ward 4 race, which is a rematch between incumbent J.C. Hill and former alderman Steve Hill.

All candidates will still need to be certified by the respective parties.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet