Contact Us e-Edition Crossroads Magazine
Sorrell, McCreless top annual squad
by H. Lee Smith II
Jul 11, 2014 | 289 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The girls’ side saw a repeat, while Corinth swept the boys’ awards in the annual Coaches All-County Basketball team.

Alcorn Central sophomore Lauren McCreless repeated as girls’ Most Valuable Player while second-year Kossuth Head Coach Rick Howell won his second award in as many years since returning to Alcorn County.

McCreless shared the award last season with Corinth senior Kadejhi Long.

Corinth swept the boys’ awards with senior Raheem Sorrell and Keith Greene, another repeat from 2012-13, earning the top awards.

Coaches also selected 10 other players on each side, equally divided between First Team and Second Team.

• McCreless paced the Lady Bears with 18.5 points, 6.8 rebounds and 2.7 steals per game in a 17-14 season. She also compiled team highs of 51-percent shooting from the floor, 81-percent from the line (232-of-288), and 13 blocks while averaging a second-best 1.9 assists per game.

McCreless has averaged 15 points per game over her two seasons, and will take 902 career points in 60 games into her junior campaign.

• Sorrell averaged 12 points and six rebounds per contest, while helping lead the Warriors (23-6) to their record eighth straight Alcorn County Tournament and their second straight Division 1-4A title. He was also second on the club in free-throw percentage.

The three-year starter joined the 100-game and 1,000-point club, finishing his four-year career with 1,226 points in 109 contests.

2013-14 Coaches All-County


MVP: Lauren McCreless, So., Alcorn Central

Coach of the Year: Rick Howell, Kossuth

First Team

Aundrea Adams, Corinth

Parrish Tice, Kossuth

Marlee Sue Bradley, Kossuth

Alexis Harmon, Alcorn Central

Jada Tubbs, Biggersville

Second Team: Jamia Kirk, Corinth; Aspen Stricklen, Corinth; Baylee Turner, Kossuth; Courtney Ekiss, Alcorn Central; Briley Talley, Alcorn Central


MVP: Raheem Sorrell, Sr., Corinth

Coach of the Year: Keith Greene, Corinth

First Team

Daniel Simmons, Biggersville

John Wiley Works, Alcorn Central

Kendall Stafford, Corinth

Jaylen Gaines, Biggersville

Desmin Harris, Corinth

Second Team: Justin Mills, Kossuth; Antares Gwyn, Corinth; Darian Barnett, Biggersville; Emmanuel Simmons, Biggersville; Rick Hodum, Kossuth
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet