Contact Us e-Edition Crossroads Magazine
Corinth Invitational will determine top golfer
by Steve Beavers
Jun 19, 2014 | 267 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The best golfer in Alcorn County will be determined this weekend.

Golfers in the area will be taking their swings to become the 25th Annual Corinth Invitational champion on Saturday and Sunday at Shiloh Ridge Athletic Club.

“This is a pivotal year for us to decide if we will be able to continue having the tournament,” said April Tucker, Director of Operations at Shiloh Ridge Athletic Club. “It is an event we have had for 25 years and it’s important to be able to have an invitational in our county.”

Chase Williams is the two-time reigning champ of the city-county golf event. Williams, a former Alcorn Central High School product, is part of four golfers who have won at least two championships.

Pat Palmer is the owner of six city-county titles, winning five straight from 1996-2000. Ronnie Fowler, Carroll Little and Gabe Null each have won three championships.

Registration for the annual event continues through today. Golfers have the choice of playing in either the championship, team format or both.

“This year we added the exciting team format which gives golfers a chance to play in an unique two-person team format,” said Tucker. “In the team format, golfers play a scramble on Saturday and best ball on Sunday.”

Trey Adams, Shiloh Ridge PGA Golf Professional, is the tournament coordinator.

“Trey is bringing new excitement to the tournament and to the Corinth golfer’s experience all together,” added Tucker.

Golfers who register will be available to attend a dinner at the Chop House with entertainment by Hurricane Kevin and The Breeze.

For more information about the tournament call the Pro Shop at 662-286-8000.

Past winners of the tournament include:

2013 – Chase Williams

2012 – Chase Williams

2011 – Brandon Robbins

2010 – Eric Russell

2009 – Gabe Null

2008 – Eric Russell

2007 – Robbie Grosinske

2006 – Gabe Null

2005 – Ronnie Fowler

2004 – Ronnie Fowler

2003 – Gabe Null

2002 – Charles Childers

2001 – Brad Davidson

2000 – Pat Palmer

1999 – Pat Palmer

1998 – Pat Palmer

1997 – Pat Palmer

1996 – Pat Palmer

1995 – Ronnie Fowler

1994 – Carroll Little

1993 – Pat Palmer

1992 – Carroll Little

1991 – Carroll Little

1990 – Jim Whitehurst
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet