Login NowClose 

Officials switch parties, more join races on final day

By Zack Steen


Two-term Democrat Rep. Nick Bain is switching parties.

The Corinth attorney told the Daily Corinthian he'll join the Republican Party in his bid for a third term in the election later this year.

"I'm tired of sitting on the sidelines," Bain said in a statement released to media by Republican Speaker of the House Philip Gunn. "I'm ready to be part of the policy-making in Mississippi. I have always been conservative in my voting record concerning Second Amendment rights and social issues like protecting the sanctity of life and family values."

Bain said he feels like the change will make him a more effective lawmaker for the people of Corinth and Alcorn County.

"I look forward to taking the voice of my constituents to the next level," Bain told the Daily Corinthian.

Bain unofficially has no opponent in the District 2 House seat race.

Corinth business owner DuJuana Frazier Thompson, who had previously announced as a Republican in the race, has withdrawn.

The local clerk's office dealt with about two dozen changes and additions on the final day of qualifying on Friday.

Four of the five county supervisors switched parties and new names on the ballot grew to five.

Candidates joining the field include Republican Mark Choate, Constable Post 1; Republican Ken Weeden and Republican Jeremy Blaylock, justice court judge post 1; independent Keith Settlemires, sheriff; and Republican Jackie Cooksey, Supervisor District 5.

Party changes include Constable Post 2 incumbent Wayne Duncan, Democrat to independent; Constable Post 2 candidate Roger Voyles, Democrat to Republican; coroner incumbent Jay Jones, Democrat to independent; justice court judge post 1 candidate Lowell E. Gann Sr., independent to Republican; justice court judge post 2 incumbent Jimmy McGee, Democrat to independent; Supervisor District 1 incumbent Lowell Hinton, Democrat to independent; Supervisor District 3 incumbent Tim Mitchell, Democrat to Republican; Supervisor District 5 incumbent Jimmy Tate Waldon, Democrat to independent; and Tax collector incumbent Larry Ross, Democrat to independent.

The county lineup ("inc." denotes incumbents):

• Chancery clerk: Greg Younger (D)(inc.)

• Circuit clerk: Jeremy Glidewell (I), Crystal Starling (I)

• Constable post 1: Johnny Butler (R)(inc.), Mark Choate (R)

• Constable post 2: Wayne Duncan (I)(inc.), Roger Voyles (R)

• Coroner: Jay Jones (I)(inc.), Ron Strom (I)

• County attorney: Bob Moore (I)(inc.)

• Justice court judge post 1: Jeremy Blaylock (R), William Everett Davis (R), Luke Doehner (I), Lowell E. Gann Sr. (R), Chris Grisham (I), George Haynie (I), John Little (I), Jon Newcomb (D), Ken A. Weeden (R)

• Justice court judge post 2: Paul Copeland (R), Aneysa "Neicy" Hurd Matthews (I), Jimmy McGee (I)(inc.)

• Sheriff: Ben Caldwell (I)(inc.), Ricky R. Gofourth (Libertarian), Keith Settlemires (I)

• Supervisor District 1: Lowell Hinton (I)(inc.), Jerry Miller (I)

• Supervisor District 2: Ralph Coln (D), James Voyles (I)(inc.)

• Supervisor District 3: Tim Mitchell (R)(inc.)

• Supervisor District 4: Steve Glidewell (R)(inc.), Jason Roach (R), Gary Ross (I), Rodney Trantham (I), Stan Johnson (I)

• Supervisor District 5: Jackie Cooksey (R), Mark Coombs (I), Jimmy Tate Waldon (I)(inc.)

• Tax assessor: Sandy Coleman Mitchell (I)

• Tax collector: Bobby Burns (I), Larry Ross (I)(inc.)

• Special election for Fourth District election commissioner: Keith "Dude" Conaway, Corey Johnson